Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

british tv set in usa

british tv set in usa

Old Oct 7th 2007, 12:51 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 177
ian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to all
Default british tv set in usa

i would like to take my tv with me , as i will have lost a lot of money if i have to sell it and buy another in usa .

can it be made to work in usa ??
ian-c is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 1:05 pm
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,820
Patrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

No
But TV sets here are so f**kin cheap it don't really matter

Put fifty quid by and buy one from Kmart.
Patrick Hasler is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 1:08 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 177
ian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to all
Default Re: british tv set in usa

mine cost 5300 , hardly used as i travel , and on ebay worth about 1500

so i lose .

then i have to make up the difference again to buy another new one in the usa

so i lose double !!

there must be a way to make it work ??
ian-c is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 1:26 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,820
Patrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Originally Posted by ian-c View Post
mine cost 5300 , hardly used as i travel , and on ebay worth about 1500

so i lose .

then i have to make up the difference again to buy another new one in the usa

so i lose double !!

there must be a way to make it work ??
You may be able to use a transformer, but even LCD wide screens are ten a penny here. It also depends on the frequency used ?
I bought a portable colour one from the UK for my truck... it don't pick up a thing
Patrick Hasler is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 1:42 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 1,834
Big D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Originally Posted by ian-c View Post
i would like to take my tv with me , as i will have lost a lot of money if i have to sell it and buy another in usa .

can it be made to work in usa ??
If its that good it should take an NTSC signal with no problems - nearly all UK TVs are NTSC compatible these days. As for voltage look at the label on the back to see if it says 110/240v - if it does then you can just change the plug or use a travel adaptor and you are good to go! if not then you will need a voltage converter which are reasonably cheap.

Scart leads wont work over here - they use the component and RGB leads - S Video works - as your TV is that good it should have an HDMI and that works fine too.

Yes TVs are MUCH cheaper over here - but you make a good point, a 5k TV at home will still cost you 2 or 3 over here!

Good luck
Big D is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 1:46 pm
  #6  
BE Forum Addict
 
Norri's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,137
Norri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond reputeNorri has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Originally Posted by Big D View Post
Yes TVs are MUCH cheaper over here - but you make a good point, a 5k TV at home will still cost you 2 or 3 over here!

Good luck
If that is the case just sell the UK one on Ebay for £1500, convert the cash at 2-1 youv'e got $3000 to buy a new one in the States.
Norri is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 2:46 pm
  #7  
The Duchess of Putney
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: HOME
Posts: 23,151
Elvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Originally Posted by ian-c View Post
mine cost 5300 , hardly used as i travel , and on ebay worth about 1500

so i lose .

then i have to make up the difference again to buy another new one in the usa

so i lose double !!

there must be a way to make it work ??
Surely, since you do not actually have a visa to live in the US - and no chance of getting one - this is all academic...
Elvira is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 3:08 pm
  #8  
Banned
 
Lord Lionheart's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica,CA from Birmingham, UK
Posts: 18,402
Lord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

USA uses NTSC, Europe uses PAL. Different systems will not work in in seperate countries.
If you brought a power converter and a UK DVD player you could watch British movies however a dual format DVD player is less than $50.
Not worth the time or effort for what would effectively be a very expensive limited use monitor as the TV will not pick up any signals in the US.
Lord Lionheart is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 3:45 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,820
Patrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond reputePatrick Hasler has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

If you arrive here on just a visa waiver with a Tv they are going to turn you right around as a possible ilegal imigrant anyway because they will assume you intend to stay
Patrick Hasler is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 3:53 pm
  #10  
Banned
 
Lord Lionheart's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica,CA from Birmingham, UK
Posts: 18,402
Lord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond reputeLord Lionheart has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Originally Posted by Patrick Hasler View Post
If you arrive here on just a visa waiver with a Tv they are going to turn you right around as a possible ilegal imigrant anyway because they will assume you intend to stay
I know some dozy git that was here illegally, he came here 'on holiday' with his tools after a return visit to the UK
Needless to say he got sent back on the next plane.

Last edited by Lord Lionheart; Oct 7th 2007 at 4:11 pm.
Lord Lionheart is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 4:06 pm
  #11  
Arrogant ****
 
dbj1000's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 4,323
dbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond reputedbj1000 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Do you think we might have a troll here?

"I'm a pipe fitter/welder and I want to work in the US"

followed immediately by:

"I want to use my UK TV in the US"

It's just too good to be true.

What next? Probably berating us for being so insensitive to a newbie, while asking for advice on how to work in the US "cash in hand" or perhaps a tirade about how the illegals have it easier than poor, honest, law-abiding white folk who just want to escape all these bloody darkies that are flooding English shores.
dbj1000 is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 4:14 pm
  #12  
Bloody Yank
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: USA! USA!
Posts: 4,186
RoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond reputeRoadWarriorFromLP has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Originally Posted by ian-c View Post
there must be a way to make it work ??
As has already been pointed out, North America uses NTSC and most of Europe uses PAL. These are different formats, so PAL sets don't work in the US, and vice versa.

However, much PAL equipment of recent manufacture also has NTSC capability. If the TV is dual voltage, chances are pretty good that it has both PAL and NTSC capability and will work in the US; if it isn't dual voltage, then it probably doesn't have NTSC capability and won't work here at all.

Another thing that hasn't been noted above is that as of 2009, the US analog format will be eliminated. Televisions that aren't digital will no longer be able to pick up terrestrial signals because the analog frequencies will not be used for television. The sets will work with cable and existing video equipment, but anyone still using antennas for their television viewing will be out of luck.
RoadWarriorFromLP is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 4:26 pm
  #13  
Ray
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 68,280
Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Then of course there is Secam in various parts ...
Ray is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 4:50 pm
  #14  
Concierge
 
Rete's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 43,725
Rete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: british tv set in usa

Don't fret it Ian. You're not coming to live and work in the US anytime in the forseeable future. An H-1B is hard to get and you would have to find an employer, then be sponsored and the next filing date for the employer to sponsor you would be April, 2008 for possibly working in October 2008. So sit back and watch your plasma screen tellie. You won't be traveling here for a while.


Originally Posted by ian-c View Post
mine cost 5300 , hardly used as i travel , and on ebay worth about 1500

so i lose .

then i have to make up the difference again to buy another new one in the usa

so i lose double !!

there must be a way to make it work ??
Rete is offline  
Old Oct 7th 2007, 6:37 pm
  #15  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 177
ian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to allian-c is a name known to all
Default Re: british tv set in usa

what is an h1b ?
ian-c is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.