British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   British teacher relocating to LA: re-certify? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/british-teacher-relocating-la-re-certify-907954/)

A_Cruz1 Jan 14th 2018 1:38 pm

British teacher relocating to LA: re-certify?

Hi all
My family and I are looking to move (back) to California from London as my husband is from there. I can work with my Green Card, when I get it. I am an experienced Primary school teacher (7 years) and a Phase Leader for Key Stage 1 (UK years 1 & 2).
Do I need to re-certify if I want to work as a teacher in California? Is it the same in private schools or are they less strict? What does re-certification actually mean? Is it a long course?
Any advice anyone can give me would be very much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
AC

scot47 Jan 14th 2018 1:43 pm

Re: British teacher relocating to LA: re-certify?

https://teach.com/become/teaching-cr...ts/california/

Good Luck

leema5 Jan 14th 2018 3:33 pm

I am in the same situation as you. UK trained teacher relocating to Florida with my American spouse in a couple of months.

I am using WEP - World Education Services, to match up my UK transcripts to U.S equivalency. The service I need is ‘course by course’. When you register and pay, they give you a reference number that can be given to your university who will then send them your sealed transcripts. I haven’t completed this step yet.

Once you have all this done it can be sent to the state education department to determine if you are able to be licensed in that state.

I’m not sure if it’s the same in CA but this is what I need to do for FL. I went onto Florida Education Department’s website and looked at the section that deals with non-US citizens as a starting point.

carcajou Jan 15th 2018 4:23 am