Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Brit Married to US Citizen Living in US wanting Easy Access to UK for Spouse

Brit Married to US Citizen Living in US wanting Easy Access to UK for Spouse

Old Oct 15th 2007, 4:08 pm
Just Joined

TheBigMan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Brit Married to US Citizen Living in US wanting Easy Access to UK for Spouse

So first up - apologies if this is answered elsewhere... I really did spend quite a bit of time searching for this in the forums and the Wiki but to no avail.

I am a Brit living with my US wife in NYC. I am a US Permanent Resident (recently granted). My issue is this - everytime we go to the UK to visit family/friends, my wife gets the regular unpleasant treatment as she has been entering as a visitor. She's been asked for all sorts of things, and even though I am standing behind the immigration counters (having gone through the UK/EU line), they basically don't care and see her as a risk.

Additionally, if my working situation should change and I need to move to the UK at short notice, we don't want visas and/or immigration complicating the issue if we can avoid it. We have no immediate plans to move to the UK, which seems to be the crux of the majority of the advice regarding this subject.

Is there any sort of visa or leave to remain/right of abode or something else we can do to cement our marriage as far as the UK immigration authorities are concerned, so that my wife can enter the UK anytime as we wish? Also anything that would help with her being able to gain employment in the UK without having to wait when/if we decide to move... I once came across some information that had something to do with a "4 year" minimum marriage requirement, but I cannot for the life of me remember where I saw it or what it related to...

Thanks in advance for the help!
Old Oct 15th 2007, 5:04 pm
Ray