Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Bringing money from the UK to the US.

Bringing money from the UK to the US.

Old Apr 8th 2011, 6:34 pm

Yorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond reputeYorkieabroad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bringing money from the UK to the US.

He probably means they just need proof of identity to satisfy anti-laundering requirements. I just had an email from my UK solicitor (that I have been using for almost 30 years) saying that new rules require them to obtain proof of identity of overseas clients every 2 years. The email didn't make it clear whose rules they were, their own, or new Law Society rules. They need me to provide notarized copies of Passport or picture driving licence and a recent utility bill.
Old Apr 8th 2011, 8:39 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead

Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by Yorkieabroad
I think the bank are obliged to report anything over $10k (not just if they think its suspicious).
Yup and you don't have to do anything about it.
Old Apr 10th 2011, 12:16 pm
Forum Regular

sykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant futuresykes has a brilliant future