Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

better off or not?

better off or not?

Old Oct 21st 2008, 5:55 pm
Forum Regular

colin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nicecolin2496 is just really nice
Default better off or not?

I am an electrician married to USC, we are not sure if we would be better off if we moved back to the USA? Can anyone offer advice on this, we would be looking to move to the PA, MD or VA area. I'm not sure of the work prospects at the moment in the USA.
As we know both economies are suffering a downturn but a just feel the usa will weather better than the uk?

Any advice welcome

Colin
Old Oct 21st 2008, 6:40 pm
Concierge

Rete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: better off or not?

Since I don't know where you are living now and the type of lifestyle you are living, no way to tell you if you would be better off here or there.

Your being an electrician might not be a good thing if you don't have a US license to work your trade or if you move to a union state, if you can't join the union.

Work in the US at the moment is not too good. Lots of layoffs. New building slowing down if not stopped altogether. An ever weakening economy. Read the papers and talk to your wife's friends and family.
Old Oct 21st 2008, 6:42 pm
Homebody