British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Best way to transfer money -UK-> US (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/best-way-transfer-money-uk-us-923888/)

ssk2506 Apr 6th 2019 4:57 am

Best way to transfer money -UK-> US

Hi all,

settling into my new life in the US and the banking system has been the most tricky to get my head around. Even though I work in finance, retail banking seems to be a decade behind us and I've gotten nowhere discussing international transfers at citibank and chase. The representatives seem to be clueless about charges and rates. Can someone who does this often please let me know what the cheapest way to transfer a sum between 20,000-30,000. I've had a look at transferwise which has better rates than the banks but it charges a 0.35% transfer fee on most transfers. this seems extortionate. has anyone tried to transfer between a cash trading/brokerage account e.g. fidelity/interactive brokers from a UK to US account and avoid these costs?

Thanks in advance.

lansbury Apr 6th 2019 5:23 am

Re: Best way to transfer money -UK-> US

You can either pay Transferwise fee or use someone who doesn't charge a fee and gives you a worse exchange rate. What you will not find is someone who will transfer your money for free. Well in fact I will happily do it for free, you just need to send the funds to my bank in Lagos.

Transferwise for the fee they charge will send the most amount of dollars to your US bank. That is what matters.

petitefrancaise Apr 6th 2019 8:15 am

Maybe talk to HSBC about setting up an account?
https://www.expat.hsbc.com/1/2/hsbc-...transfers/faqs
although they need to make money somewhere - so exchange rates may not be as good as transferwise.

durham_lad Apr 6th 2019 9:08 am

Originally Posted by lansbury (Post 12666761)