Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Beginnigng Process

Beginnigng Process

Old Dec 29th 2001, 10:43 pm
Just Joined

Deanjay has a spectacular aura aboutDeanjay has a spectacular aura aboutDeanjay has a spectacular aura about

Hi all,
I just started processing the paperwork, and I have heard all sorts of stories from many different sources...but as I understand the process, here it is, and anyone tell me if I'm on the right track.
I'm an F1 student, and my wife of 4 months now is a citizen. we are starting to file the paperwork, and we've been told it's in 3 parts. 1."AOS" 2.Employment Authorization 3.Travel Autorization. I will try to break it down as it has been done for me.

1.AOS
Forms: 130, 485, 325 [For both of us], 864, 9003 and 693[Medical].
Docs: 2 Passport pictures[for both], W2 1998-2000[For her], Birth Cert[for both], Marriage cert, Copy of Visa [for me].

Now I have been told that you dont have to send in the Tax return with the rest of the paperwork, but that you need it for the interview. Same thing for the Medical exam papers. Is this true? What are otehr people's experiences? We went to IRS yesterday to try to get the "transcript," but the officials claim that the computers are being updated and will be for the next 2 weeks. Should we wait till they are done, get the transcripts and send them, or is this truly something we can do at another time.

2. Employment Auth
Form and Passport pics
Approxamately how long does it take befroe you receive the EAD?

3. Travel Auth
Form and Pics
Is the travel authorization the same thinf as "Advance Parole"? Neither of us plan to travel for a long time, and by the time we would need to or have time to travel, it would be at least a year or 2 from now. By which I have heard that the AOS is completed [typically] by then. And if not, can the application be made then?