Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Bank Requesting Self Identification of Tax Residency

Bank Requesting Self Identification of Tax Residency

Old Oct 10th 2018, 9:13 pm
KCMO

michaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond reputemichaelr711 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Bank Requesting Self Identification of Tax Residency

Received a letter from Santander today at my Mom's house stating that they are under the impression I am a tax resident of another country (which I clearly am), but they want me to fill out a form self identifying so that they can share info with HMRC and other relevant tax authorities (presumably the IRS) if they need to. Would I be advised to fill out the form, or should I just leave it alone?
Old Oct 10th 2018, 10:36 pm
BE Forum Addict

tom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bank Requesting Self Identification of Tax Residency

I would think failure to reply could lead to them suspending and further canceling your account
Old Oct 10th 2018, 10:40 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace