Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

American hubby, British nurse ... How do we get to USA

American hubby, British nurse ... How do we get to USA

Old Sep 27th 2018, 8:51 pm
Just Joined

Emslou is just really niceEmslou is just really niceEmslou is just really niceEmslou is just really niceEmslou is just really niceEmslou is just really niceEmslou is just really niceEmslou is just really nice
Default American hubby, British nurse ... How do we get to USA

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site. My name is Emma I'm a registered UK nurse qualified September 2010. I had 7 years post qualification with young adults with learning disabilities (age 16 -25) and mental health problems. I have been working since April this year in an acute trauma surgical orthopaedic ward and I will be starting gynae ward soon. My husband was born is the USA he has US connections aunties and uncles. We both want to move over with our two girls. (To Wisconsin)
He doesn't have a problem as he is american , our girls have dual nationality, he is able to move over and stay with his uncle until he sorts out car, rental etc.
I have read that it will be difficult for me to move and work as a nurse with all the exams etc plus I know I have no theory in maternity and paeds and obstetrics. I don't mind going over and not working as a nurse as long as I can get a well paid job doing something!! Any ideas what to do ? If I do go over as a nurse which is ideal what the heck do I have to do to obtain that theory and practice in those fields I am missing??
thanks so much in advance 😘
Old Sep 27th 2018, 9:11 pm
Concierge