Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

2015 Tax Return - Resident or Non-resident?

2015 Tax Return - Resident or Non-resident?

Old Apr 7th 2015, 4:51 pm
Just Joined

tfc3000 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 2015 Tax Return - Resident or Non-resident?

Hi,

I am a UK / USA dual national. I lived in the UK most of my life. I moved back to the USA just over 2 years ago. I now live and work in California.

I am setup as a sole trader in the UK. However, I am not being paid through the sole tradership in the USA. I am being paid as a direct permanent employee.

For the past 2 years I filed my taxes online using HMRC self assessment. I would go through the process and there was a section about my foreign income. Which I would fill in and say that I didn't send any back to the UK (or very little). There was also a section which asked how many days I spent in the USA vs UK. Self assessment would then work out that I was a non resident. I end up owing no tax (or very little). I am also paying my NIC class 2 on a direct debit.

However, this year there was a notice when I started self assessment. Saying - if I am a non resident - then I must use 3rd party software to file my taxes . So I went ahead and checked out taxcalc.com.

My questions are:

Could I just file my taxes as a resident? I have a sole tradership setup with a UK address. The taxcalc route seems like a lot more forms and room for error.

Is there anything wrong with filing as a resident when I am technically a non-resident?

I plan to come back to the UK permanently within the next 3 years.
Old Apr 7th 2015, 5:01 pm