British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   10 Reasons Why I Love America (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/10-reasons-why-i-love-america-242620/)

Dant3 Jul 16th 2004 6:53 pm

10 Reasons Why I Love America

After having a work permit for just 5 months I have a job in the field I studied at university. In England I wasn’t even close after 5 years.

Even though my salary is roughly the same as it was in England, I’m able to afford a nicer apartment in a nicer neighbourhood than I ever could in Leeds.

I’ve never once had to worry about the cost of heating…I don’t even need heating.

I’m able to eat out twice a week rather than twice a year.

The food in markets, especially fresh produce, is better quality and much cheaper.

Stores are still open when I get off work.

Electronic items are half the price – got to love the Apple store.

I get to see movies for free several months before they’re released.

I get to see film crews shooting stuff every day and tell my mother that my office building is in the new car commercial she’s watching. I know ‘the industry’ shouldn’t excite me so much, but it does.

The view from the back yard is of mountains and palm trees, not concrete highrises.

nxylas Jul 16th 2004 8:09 pm

Re: 10 Reasons Why I Love America

Originally posted by Dant3
How come, if you don't mind me asking?

Dant3 Jul 16th 2004 8:18 pm

Originally posted by nxylas
How come, if you don't mind me asking?
Maybe it's an LA thing, but outside of every major movie theatre there are people handing out flyers to various audience test screenings. Last week saw the new Ewan McGregor/Naomi Watts movie, Stay. It was absolutely terrible, but at least I won't be wasting $10 seeing it in the autumn!

Manc Jul 16th 2004 8:29 pm

After having a work permit for just 5 months
give it time ;)

James Box Jul 16th 2004 8:35 pm