Reload this Page >

1 Year Secondment to USA - Any advice appreciated

1 Year Secondment to USA - Any advice appreciated

Old Aug 15th 2013, 8:29 pm
Just Joined

BigCraig is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 1 Year Secondment to USA - Any advice appreciated

Hi,
My wife has been given the opportunity of a 1 year secondment to Boston to do some research at the Harvard Public School of Health. She will continue to be paid by her current university here in the UK.
I am a secondary school science teacher and would hope to work while we are there. We also have 2 children who will be aged 8 and 6 when we go across next year (hopefully Aug 2014 -2015).
I am asking for any advice about everything and anything -
How easy will it be for me to get a job (doesn't have to be teaching)?
How do we go about getting the kids into a school for one year (will we have to pay)?
If my wife is being paid by her University will she have to pay UK tax or USA tax (hopefully the University will sort that out, but any additional information is useful)?
What sort of insurances will we need e.g. medical, etc?
Are there any other questions I should be asking?

Any help, advice, information will be gratefully received.
BigCraig
Old Aug 15th 2013, 8:30 pm
Often not so civil...

civilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 1 Year Secondment to USA - Any advice appreciated

What visa would your wife be receiving? That is the key issue. On one type of visa you would be able to work, on another you wouldn't.
Old Aug 15th 2013, 8:42 pm
Just Joined