Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Want to file for citizenship - but I am divorced?!?

Wikiposts

Want to file for citizenship - but I am divorced?!?

Old Nov 20th 2004, 1:02 pm
Forum Regular

SDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really niceSDER is just really nice
Unhappy Want to file for citizenship - but I am divorced?!?

Okay, I am not sure if anyone knows, but its worth a try!

I have been a permanent resident of the states for ten years and have lived in the US all that time. I got my green card through marriage. We were only married for two years and we got a divorce. Here is my problem....

I want to apply for citizenship, but noticed on the document list that if filing on the basis of marriage (which I guess I am, that is how I got my residency) I need to submit my spouses (ex spouse in my case) birth certificate, our marriage certificate and another document... Firstly, I am no longer in contact with him and do not know where he lives, and secondly, we got married in this tiny little court house somewhere out in the sticks in Greece. Theres no way I can get the marriage certificate. The only thing I can get a certified copy of is the divorce cert.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation, and do I really need to submit these documents if I have been divorced for eight years!?

Thanks!
Old Nov 20th 2004, 4:58 pm
Concierge

Rete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond reputeRete has a reputation beyond repute