VWP question/flight question

Old Feb 5th 2011, 1:35 pm
Just Joined

macks1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default VWP question/flight question

Hello all,

I've been searching through the forums for a possible answer to this but no avail.

I will be travelling to the US (NY, entering through JFK) for three weeks in March-April (a friends wedding and visiting friends). I know this is completely fine on the VWP as it's a pleasure trip. However, I am also planning on going to the US June-August to travel, see friends, and to do voluntary work at a school summer programme in NYC (this is to still be confirmed by the school). I'm a teacher in the UK, have a credit card I'll be using to fund my summer visit (I'm staying with friends so don't need money for hotels etc), have a car I'm still paying for and will be renting a flat come August 2011 so have plenty of ties to the UK.

My questions are:

1) When I get asked in June at POE, do I say pleasure or business, or both? Can I not work at the school, even though it's voluntary and I won't be getting paid, under the VWP or is this completely fine? I was in the US last year for three weeks and I have NO intention of breaking any visa laws.

2) I know a lot of people on here say it's best to bring proof of ties to the UK. Would this be advisable? I could get a confirmation letter from my school stating that I have a job to return to in August, bring my car finance statement, a letter from my landlord saying I will be renting the flat from August 2011, credit card statement showing I have funds, and a letter from the school in NY if they give the OK about me helping them out during their summer programme. Would it also be advisable to have the addresses of my friends I'll be staying with (they live in CT, MA, NYC, and CA)? I know the POE officer may question why I'm back so soon after my 3 week visit during Easter - just for the record, my summer trip was planned before my friends decided to get married in the US!!