Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

VWP, overstayed by 8 days for emergency

VWP, overstayed by 8 days for emergency

Old Apr 29th 2014, 6:13 pm
Just Joined

ericson41 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default VWP, overstayed by 8 days for emergency

Hi All, It's my first time on this forum and I'd certainly appreciate any advice you can give.
In April 2013 I went to the US to buy a sailing boat to sail back to the UK. I used the full three months of the VWP to prep the boat for the trip home. I obtained clearance for the boat from the US customs and border protection. I started the trip along long island sound and the engine died. I pulled into a local marina (I'm still in the US) to carry out repairs. The repairs took a few days, so on my 90th day, I called the local Customs office and told them of my problem. I asked if I should take a flight out of the country and re enter as my VWP would expire. The officer (I have his name and badge number) said there was really no need If I was heading out shortly. Another day passed and I was waiting on an engine part to be fedex'd out to the marina. Again I called the Customs and Border protection and said I am still in the country. He said as long as I stayed on the boat there was no issue. I asked him to log this conversation on the immigration system and he again gave me his name and badge number. After 8 days overstay, the marina said the job would take a few more days, so I flew back to the UK. I had no issues at the airport and nobody said anything.