Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Visa Waiver - Some possible issues??

Visa Waiver - Some possible issues??

Old Jun 19th 2010, 8:29 pm
Just Joined

nomadsurfer is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Visa Waiver - Some possible issues??

Hello -
I'm a 32-year old, male German citizen seeking to enter the US under the visa waiver program (VWP) for a period of 3 weeks. Reason: I'm meeting up with a group of friends from my college days over 4th of July. I have no intention to enter into employment while I'm in the country nor to stay longer than that time. I have a return ticket and sufficient funds. However, there are 2 potential issues:
1.) This year I already spent 5 months in the US (also under the VWP). Reason: I work as a freelance writer, so I can work from anywhere in the world. My clients are in Europe, and I'm paid in British pounds into an English bank account. I do not have clients in the US, but have been doing work for my overseas clients while I was there. I first arrived in the US on January 19, to visit friends, with the intention to stay for 90 days. However, in mid-March I was asked to travel back to Europe for work (4 day trip) and upon re-entry was granted another 90 day stay, so I used the opportunity and changed my ticket accordingly. At no point did I overstay. QUESTION: Is there a chance I will be denied reentry when I travel back to the US after only having been away for 2 1/2 weeks? If so, what would the reasoning of the immigration officer be and what could I say/do to convince them otherwise?