Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Upcoming L1-A interview at US Embassy in London

Upcoming L1-A interview at US Embassy in London

Old Oct 26th 2004, 5:10 am
Just Joined

i_york is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Upcoming L1-A interview at US Embassy in London

Finally, after much trial and tribulation, I have got to the stage where my company are sponsoring me for an L1-A under their blanket L visa. My embassy appointment is now booked for Friday (29/10).

My employer's basis for the L1-A application is that I am a functional manager, managing an important technical function.

What can I expect to be asked at the interview in London? I was told by an operator on the rip-off £1.30/minute phone number you're forced to dial, that the whole process should take approx. 3-4 hours... does this sound realistic?

Will I be told on the day if my application has been approved or denied, or will I have to wait until I get my passport back in the post?

My mother was previously married to an Arabic guy (years ago), so I've had to state her arabic surname as a previous surname on the forms... I hope that doesn't qualify my application for 'additional processing'!

On the DS-156, there is a field for 'National Identification Number'. Should I leave this blank, or should I insert my National Insurance Number?

Thanks for any advice guys!
Old Oct 26th 2004, 5:41 am
L D Jones

Default Re: Upcoming L1-A interview at US Embassy in London

i_york wrote:

[...]
    > On the DS-156, there is a field for 'National Identification
    > Number'. Should I leave this blank, or should I insert my National
    > Insurance Number?

Leave it blank (some would caution never to leave any item blank and use
"N/A" or similar). On her immigrant visa application my wife left it
blank and had no problem. I did some research on the web and could never
find what "National Identification Number" is or was.