Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Theft conviction - should I go to the Embassy anyway?

Theft conviction - should I go to the Embassy anyway?

Old Jan 2nd 2012, 8:14 pm
Just Joined

Grant W is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Theft conviction - should I go to the Embassy anyway?

Hello

I am sure these questions have been asked on here many many times, but please bear with me, as having searched the forums and several other websites I'm unable to pin down exactly if/if not I a)need a visa in the first place and b)have a hope in hell of getting one anyway.

First my situation. I am 44 years of age. I work as a games designer and have done so for the past 15 years. In 1995 I was arrested and released with a caution for shoplifting (goods approx value £35). It was the first time I had been involved with the police and to this day remains my only involvement with them.

I now work for an American company, and they would like me to visit the US every so often for business meetings etc,. I am about to apply for a B1 Business visa to attend such meetings (My employer knows my visa issues so no flights have been booked.)

I have my ACRO report and all the necessary documentation to apply at the embassy. However, is it even worth me going as there are two confounding factors;

a) In 2003 I travelled to the Yukon in Canada, during which time we crossed the border into the US via the top of the world highway. At the border I was given the form to fill in by the tour guide on the bus. Reading through it, I ticked no to the arrest question - wrongly now I know - and proceeded.

b) I have recently read that any conviction of moral turpitude bars you from entry, pure and simple. If so, is there any point in me spending the money and going in the first place.