Termination of J1 Visa

Old Jul 18th 2009, 3:25 pm
Just Joined

ross1990 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Termination of J1 Visa

Hiya,

Just wondering if anybody could give me any advice. Im a student from the UK who is working in the USA this summer under the J1 Visa. I changed my job whilst here and now my J1 Visa sponsor have terminated my J1 Visa and have told me to return to the UK immediately.

I was due to stay in USA until 10th September 2009.

I understand that as a UK passport holder you can get a visa waiver which lets you stay in the USA for 90 days as a tourist. If I wanted to stay in the USA until September 10th with my friend could I not get a visa waiver without having to return back home to the UK?

My friend is out here with me on the same program but is still with the job. I dont want to return and leave him here, id rather just stay as a tourist.
Old Jul 18th 2009, 5:27 pm
crg
American Expat

crg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond reputecrg has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Termination of J1 Visa

Originally Posted by ross1990
Hiya,

Just wondering if anybody could give me any advice. Im a student from the UK who is working in the USA this summer under the J1 Visa. I changed my job whilst here and now my J1 Visa sponsor have terminated my J1 Visa and have told me to return to the UK immediately.

I understand that as a UK passport holder you can get a visa waiver which lets you stay in the USA for 90 days as a tourist. If I wanted to stay in the USA until September 10th with my friend could I not get a visa waiver without having to return back home to the UK?