Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Teacher with record needing immigration advice to work in the US

Teacher with record needing immigration advice to work in the US

Old Jun 14th 2019, 9:55 am
Just Joined

London22ATL is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Teacher with record needing immigration advice to work in the US

When I was 13 and 18, I committed two minor offences which resulted in a conditional discharge and a £25 and £50 fine. Stupid, I know. I deeply regret them. These incidents are in no way an indication of the adult I am today.

Since then (over 15 years ago) I have graduated twice, worked in a Whitehall government department, and have qualified as a teacher. I have been teaching for 5 years now, and have been fortunate enough to be offered an opportunity to teach in the US.

I have been open with the school, however I am mindful that my background will require more time and attention with regards to obtaining a visa on this side of the pond.

Hopefully, dedicating my career to a socially responsible vocation to teach, guide and support misguided young people who might make life changing decision before they realise the gravity should demonstrate my redemptive nature and that I have changed to become a better person.

I would be grateful for any thoughts or advice on approaching this, whether personally or a loved one, as well as recommendations of immigration lawyers used by anyone who also had a slightly complicated background.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers!
Old Jun 14th 2019, 11:22 am
BE Forum Addict