Tax Returns

Old Aug 9th 2004, 11:09 am
Just Joined

SillyMonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax Returns

Hi, newbie here, so please excuse me if this sounds like a silly question.
I would like to start the visa process to join my fiance in the US. My understanding is that after we are married we will need to AOS, and part of this process is for him to have the last 3 years tax returns. He hasn't filed taxes in years! I'm not trying to excuse him, I know that this is a bad thing. Has anyone else been in a similar situation? If he files the taxes now he may have to be put on some kind of payment plan with the IRS. Would this hinder the AOS process?
Old Aug 9th 2004, 11:14 am
Just Joined

iomega1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Tax Returns

Originally Posted by SillyMonkey
Hi, newbie here, so please excuse me if this sounds like a silly question.
I would like to start the visa process to join my fiance in the US. My understanding is that after we are married we will need to AOS, and part of this process is for him to have the last 3 years tax returns. He hasn't filed taxes in years! I'm not trying to excuse him, I know that this is a bad thing. Has anyone else been in a similar situation? If he files the taxes now he may have to be put on some kind of payment plan with the IRS. Would this hinder the AOS process?
He is also going to have to provide these documents just to get you to the USA, and before the AOS paperwork is filed. You will have to be approved to leave your country with a visa to be with him. This process will also require the tax documents. He will need to contact the IRS and make arrangements to catch up with them. You have zero chance of getting through immigration until your boyfriend takes care of the IRS requirements.
Old Aug 9th 2004, 11:18 am
Just Joined

Originally Posted by iomega1