Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Starting out - L1, L2 and GC options

Starting out - L1, L2 and GC options

Old Aug 11th 2009, 3:57 pm
Just Joined

aziraphale will become famous soon enoughaziraphale will become famous soon enough
Default Starting out - L1, L2 and GC options

So I got an email at the start of the week from the big boss confirming - the company's willing to transfer me to the US, sponsoring L1 and on to green card... been frantically researching since then (finding a lot of useful material here in the forums), and now decided to take the plunge and set out my situation on here, see if I'm reading the situation right, and if anyone has advice to offer.

So, here's my status: I'm a software dev, my UK-based employer was bought out a little over a year ago by a US company. I've been in the industry for a little over ten years, now in a senior dev role, but not managerial. One detail that I suspect might put a fly in the ointment: I've not got a degree, though obviously I'm in a job that normally would be graduate level.

Based on my limited research so far, that makes me a candidate for L1B, which may keep me in the US for up to 5 years; but it looks like the GC situation may be more complicated. I suspect we'd need to push for an EB2 classification based on industry experience, or else - as I understand it - I'd be forced down to EB3 'skilled worker' or similar, which would take potentially a very long time to process after labor certification... Am I on the right lines here? Does anyone have experience of going through that process as a non-graduate?

Then the other complication is my wife. Naturally, if I'm on L1, she'd be L2 - but I've found precious little information on routes available for her to pursue a green card, short of waiting for me to obtain one and then sponsor her.