Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Scottish couple looking to live & work in USA- EB-2 visa?

Scottish couple looking to live & work in USA- EB-2 visa?

Old May 9th 2010, 1:17 am
Just Joined

sarahanddave is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Scottish couple looking to live & work in USA.

Hi all,

As per the title, my partner and I are looking to live and work in the USA, preferably west coast/ California area.
Weve spent a fair amount of time looking at visa requirements, possibilities for sponsorship, emigration magazines and the internet but were still struggling to see a clear way in for us.
My girlfriend and I are both 28 years old, healthy and have clean criminal records.
My gf graduated her Phd in Chemistry from Edinburgh university afew years ago and has been working in regulatory affairs (pharamceutical) since graduating.
I have an honours degree in Business, and have been working as a Practice Manager in an optical practice for the past couple of years.
Neither of our employers offer sponsorship to work in the USA as far as we can tell. Im actually employed by Costco, so could probably get an offer of work easily enough, but again no sponsorship.
I also have a fair few family members who have been in the USA for over 20 years, although none close enough to help our application as far as Im aware (aunts, uncles, cousins etc.).
We would both look at changing employers if there are any notable companies who are helpful in relocating their employees. My gf has also considered post-doctorate (post-doc) study in America.
We are not married at present, but would do so quickly if it helped us to relocate together.
So, any ex-pats out there that can see a way into the USA for us?
I wondered if my girlfriend would qualify for an EB-2 visa, having a Phd and afew years work experience? Obviously she would also need an offer of work from a U.S. company.