British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   Quick question. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/quick-question-852031/)

Sabrielle Feb 3rd 2015 3:47 pm

Quick question.

Can I work in the US if someone is willing to sponsor my visa as a nanny? I am currently studying for my nvq 3 in early years childcare and my daughter is a US citizen, I was considering moving to the US for a while to do some nannying. It's just a passing thought and I wanted to know if it was possible, I know I can not go as an aupair as I am 29. Thank you.

sir_eccles Feb 3rd 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Quick question.

I'm guessing your daughter isn't over 21?

Sabrielle Feb 3rd 2015 4:07 pm

No she is 7.

sir_eccles Feb 3rd 2015 4:13 pm

Originally Posted by Sabrielle (Post 11554369)
No she is 7.

Figured, what is the basis of her citizenship? Is she living in the US?

If you can't get the J-1 au pair, I don't think there are any realistic ways of getting a visa as a nanny.

Sabrielle Feb 3rd 2015 4:14 pm

Alright. No she lives with me in the UK, she is a duel citizen her father is American. I knew I couldn't go to the US based off her anyway she's only 7 and has to be 21 to sponsor me. I am just looking at another realistic way that I could go off my own back. I am pretty sure I am too old to go as an au pair.

johnnybrown532 Feb 3rd 2015 4:28 pm

Originally Posted by Sabrielle (Post 11554382)
Alright. No she lives with me in the UK, she is a duel citizen her father is American. I knew I couldn't go to the US based off her anyway she's only 7 and has to be 21 to sponsor me. I am just looking at another realistic way that I could go off my own back. I am pretty sure I am too old to go as an au pair.