Wikiposts

Post Doc to GC OR Master's to GC?

Old Sep 13th 2007, 4:41 am
Forum Regular

yabadabadoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Post Doc to GC OR Master's to GC?

Hello All,
I am here in US on a H1B VISA, while my wife just completed her PH.D and got an offer for a Post Doc. We intend to apply for our GC soon, so here are the questions, for which I would highly appreciate your replies, since I have no clue whatsoever about GC processing:
1.) I have a completed Master's Degree in Manufacturing Engineering and I discontinued my MBA in the middle as I got a job offer (both from US) and changed my status to H1B VISA, but will complete my MBA in the near future. On what category can I apply for my GC and how long would it take (approximately). I am an Indian citizen.

2.) Can my wife also apply for GC based on her Post Doc? How long would this take to get it processed?

3.) If my wife starts her Post Doc, on what VISA would she be in and who will primarily be filing for her GC meaning her school or herself?

Out of the option 1 and 2 which would expedite the process?

Your replies are highly appreciated.

Thank you!
Old Sep 13th 2007, 4:52 am
Homebody

Elvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond reputeElvira has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Post Doc to GC OR Master's to GC?

Originally Posted by yabadabadoo
Hello All,
I am here in US on a H1B VISA, while my wife just completed her PH.D and got an offer for a Post Doc. We intend to apply for our GC soon, so here are the questions, for which I would highly appreciate your replies, since I have no clue whatsoever about GC processing: