Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Permanent Resident Married To A Tourist

Wikiposts

Permanent Resident Married To A Tourist

Old Mar 13th 2007, 2:59 am
Pearl Bengay

Default Permanent Resident Married To A Tourist

Hello, I am a permanent resident for 2 years now. I married my husband
in July 2006 and filed for I-130 in September 2006. Unfortunately, we
were too dumb and too occupied that we let his B2 expire November
2006, the month our twin girls were born. We thought we were covered
since I filed my petition when he was still legal in this country;
also I understand that application for his B2 extension will be
questionable anyway since I have already have a petition in place.
Recently, immigration activities has been leaving worried for my
husband's situation. I'm afraid he'll be deported for his overstay and
our twins and I will be left here without known relatives. As of
today, he overstayed for 117 days but letting him leave the country
before 180 days is due (so he can re-apply for another visa and avoid
a ban) is barely an option since 2 babies are involved. But I'm also
concerned that if and when my I-130 petition gets approved and I'm
ready to file for I-485, that it won't get approved because he
overstayed. Also even if I become a US Citizen (whichever comes first)
years from now...I'm still worried that my upgraded petition won't be
honored because of his status. Please enlighten me...I really need
help and soon. Thanks!

Old Mar 13th 2007, 3:19 am
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat099 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Permanent Resident Married To A Tourist

He is here illegally and liable for deportation.

As a Permanent Resident you would have to wait 6 or so year to sponsor him. He would not be able to adjust within the US as overstays are only forgiven on marriage to a USC.