Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Newbie wanting to move USA..many questions!! Eek!!

Newbie wanting to move USA..many questions!! Eek!!

Old Sep 12th 2009, 5:43 pm
Account Closed

pigletsweet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Newbie wanting to move USA..many questions!! Eek!!

Hi Guys/Girls

Im a mature student (30) with an uncle (who is also my step dad) who has a Candadian/brit dual passport and currently works in Canada but is going to work in USA.

Now, i am about to join Uni here, but need my degree to be completed in USA as its in psychology and needs to be accredited in USA to work there.

Wen my step dad goes to USA in few months to work, mum is joining him with my young brother on his work visa. He is well paid and mum would like a home in Florida. Mum will either join him and get young un' to comeplete school there or do his exams here and stuff him in college out there.

How could I join them? I notice he could/will become a PR but that can take many years? and I could transfer Uni in my 2nd year but need a co signed loan. If they move out there aside from Uni fees..they will pay for my living transport ect.
I do appreciate however that its a long detailed process and I have taken a realistic view spending many hours doing my homework on this though it is a tad mind boggling.

My UK degree in Psycholgy will prove harder to use than getting a USA one. I plan to do 2 years study here then try to secure funds to finish 2years in USA so hopefully a loan wont be as hard.

OR could I get over to be with them if he is my step parent (marriage before I was 16yrs but divorced and plan to re marry) though is he my step parent though him and Mum are divorced...as getting there as an Unmarried over 21 daughter (step child) is on visa site but the break in marriage confuses me as to what I would be viewed as(they are remarrying in usa)