N400 Question

Old Feb 17th 2016, 11:45 am
Just Joined

MB2712 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default N400 Question

I am very recently widowed. I have been a resident (marriage to a US Citizen) since 2006. My husband was a citizen since birth. We were very happily married until his recent death. My husband always pressed for me to apply for my citizenship but for one reason and another I didn't.

I now want to go ahead and apply for citizenship, but I am unsure on how to complete section 8 of the form. Is my deceased husband my current spouse or is he a prior spouse ?

I would appreciate some guidance, I have in the past always completed my own immigration forms and I would like to do the N400 myself.

Many thanks in advance
Old Feb 17th 2016, 12:07 pm
BE Forum Addict

Guindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond reputeGuindalf has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: N400 Question

As you are widowed and free to remarry, he is a prior spouse.

However, it makes no difference to your application as you appear to meet all the requirements to qualify for citizenship without relying on the marriage to confirm.

The forms aren't that difficult and we are happy to help where we can. Most of us have direct experience (including myself) of the naturalization process.
Old Feb 17th 2016, 2:37 pm
Just Joined

Thank you so much. I appreciate your prompt response.
Old Feb 17th 2016, 4:00 pm
BE Forum Addict