My USA Dillema

Old Aug 22nd 2003, 8:50 pm
Just Joined

spurious is an unknown quantity at this point
Default My USA Dillema

Hello everyone - this is my first time posting and it's good to be here. I'm hoping to get some advise from you guys with regards to my particular situation. I have read the FAQs and archives and although some more general stuff has been very helpful, I wouldn't mind a few specific clarifications.

I am a UK citizen and in June 2002 travelled to Australia to spend a year studying as part of my course in the UK. Although I travelled direct to Australia, I did so on a one-way ticket and when booking my return flight discovered that a flight back to London via the USA would cost no more, so I took it. I filled in all relevant documentation and arrived under the VWP for a five day stay in LA followed by a few days in NY then on to London.

My time in LA was brilliant - so good, infact, that I am still here! I made many friends through the friends I was staying with and am having a great time. It is my intention that when my VWP period expires, I will return to LA within a couple of weeks and continue my stay here for another few weeks.

I am following all the conditions of the VWP in that I am not working (well, I get a small amount of money in exchange for helping out around the place but it's hardly work) and am not over-staying my welcome of 90 days. Yet I am utterly petrified of the immigration people who I have convinced myself with subject me to some kind of horrific ordeal when I try to explain why I am coming back so soon after already spending 90 days (or there-abouts) here.