British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   Moving from UK to Us in the next 2 years (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/moving-uk-us-next-2-years-919699/)

Lolskut Nov 27th 2018 11:52 pm

Moving from UK to Us in the next 2 years

Hi All,

New here so not 100% sure how all this works. However I am looking to move to the USA (Indiana) within the next 2 years. This is to live with my girlfriend who is a citizen and resides there. We have been together for over 5 years and have met many times (in both the UK and USA) and are now looking in to options for me to move there. I am 21 and she is 20. I have been working for over 4 years in IT and she is currently in University.

We would like to move in together without having to pursue the "Rushed" married in 90 days option if that is possible. I understand how hard it is to move on a work visa so I just wanted to check if anyone here had a suggestion of what I could do with increase my chances, or any other options that would suit me. I have a good amount of money saved up (by the time I move I plan it to be over 40k GBP).

I'm currently planning on getting my MCSA and ITIL Certification to improve my working knowledge and hire ability. Her family is aware that I would like to move and support this decision. Please let me know if there is any more information that would help with assisting me that I can provide. All help appreciated. Thanks you so much in advanced!

-Scott

Noorah101 Nov 28th 2018 12:31 am

Re: Moving from UK to Us in the next 2 years

At this point, you probably won't get a work visa, unless you can work for a company in the UK that has offices in the USA and after 1 year ask to be transferred (L visa).

Do you have a degree? If not, and without much experience, you probably won't qualify for an H-1B in the near future.