Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

L1 to permenent right to work/stay visa ?

L1 to permenent right to work/stay visa ?

Old Mar 29th 2015, 5:45 pm
Just Joined

annabel2010 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default L1 to permenent right to work/stay visa ?

Hi all,

I’m planning to move to the USA later this year, my current employer is supporting this with a L1 visa application for a Manager/Executive; I wondering if anyone can help me understand the process and timeline from a L1 (limited to a specific company) to a permanent work visa which would allow me to work for any company in the USA.

Background:

They are UK based with a USA office that is staffed by a high % of UK staff who have also made the move, I believe the company has some kind of blanket approval in place that reduces the time to process the L1 to a few week.

I work in the software industry where this is a high rate of M&A activity, the company I work for under the L1 will most likely be sold to someone else in 2-3 years, that partly why I’m moving to help ensure the companies success so it can be sold.

If the company was sold, and wanted to keep me on, I assume they will have a process for re-allocating the L1 the buyer – or something similar – is that correct?

The other scenario is I decide I want to work for someone else so I need a permanent work visa no tied to the original employer and the L1. Can anyone advise on how I start to progress that application (and what the specific visa type/name is) once I’m in the country so I keep my options open?

Thanks
A
Old Mar 29th 2015, 5:48 pm
BE Commentator