Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Just starting on this journey, lots to learn

Just starting on this journey, lots to learn

Old Jan 2nd 2020, 1:39 pm
Just Joined

Sleepy82 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Just starting on this journey, lots to learn

In short, I love the US more than I do the UK and I'm in a good position to jump ship.....

I've been doing some reading though and it doesn't really look very hopeful for me, I'm 37, single, no debt, some savings, no mortgage and no kids. I'm a hgv driver with 12 years of experience in the UK, clean license and no criminal record. If I need to show good character, I'm a UK firearms certificate and shotgun certificate holder and have an advanced dbs check (I volunteered with kids for a while)

Initially it looked like I had a chance as the US are apparently short of truck drivers but the more I look into that, the more it seems to be a dead end - I'd need permanent residence before I could train and take whatever tests but the whole point of getting a job would be to get permanent residence so it's a catch 22 as far as I can see.

The easier option appears to be Canada but I'm still keen to explore any options I can, to stick with the USA

As I don't really have any ties here, I've given myself a couple of years to plan, ask questions, find work etc etc. Because of the aforementioned dead end, I'm considering looking for seasonal work and doing that either or both years (probably autumn/winter). Because I'm free and single (I can't claim to be all that young at 37) I wouldn't rule out meeting my future wife along the way but, obviously, although it'd be very welcome and simplify things considerably - that's not in the plan at all, it'd just be a lucky break.

can anyone think of anything I might be able to do to start my new life there?
Old Jan 2nd 2020, 1:43 pm
SUPER MODERATOR