British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   How to find H1b sponsoring companies? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/how-find-h1b-sponsoring-companies-730237/)

meghna Aug 27th 2011 10:46 pm

How to find H1b sponsoring companies?

Hello,

We came here on a L1A/L2 visa but unfortunately my husband has been made redundant and we are trying hard if we can stay here on a H1b visa. How would you find direct employer who will sponsor your H1b visa? My husband is in Business Intelligence whilst I am a Data Analyst.

We have tried for couple of jobs but they aren't willing to sponsor, infact my employer here isn't ready to do it too. How else others have been able to find one?

Many Thanks
Meg

ian-mstm Aug 28th 2011 12:01 am

Re: How to find H1b sponsoring companies?

Originally Posted by meghna (Post 9585621)
How would you find direct employer who will sponsor your H1b visa?

You don't... which is to say, there aren't any lists. You apply for jobs and hope someone is willing to pay several thousand $$ to sponsor you for a visa.

My husband is in Business Intelligence whilst I am a Data Analyst.
If one of you gets an H-1B visa, the other one will be able to take an extended holiday... since the spouse of an H-1B can't work - ever.

We have tried for couple of jobs but they aren't willing to sponsor, infact my employer here isn't ready to do it too. How else others have been able to find one?
Those who have been successful, applied for hundreds of jobs before finding one who was willing to sponsor. I'm afraid a "couple of jobs" simply isn't going to do it for you.

Ian

scrubbedexpat099 Aug 28th 2011 12:14 am

Sounds like your SO would be in a better spot than most to answer this question. You appreciate you need 2 in the same area?

discoviking Aug 30th 2011 11:52 am