British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   H4 to GC timeline for EAD (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/h4-gc-timeline-ead-714734/)

speedtriple Apr 26th 2011 7:06 pm

H4 to GC timeline for EAD

I am just starting out on the H1B visa route, I know that if my application is successful my wife will be issued an H4 visa and will not be able to work. Whilst our first year in the US will be used to test the water, if we decided to go down the GC route in EB3 category, can anyone advise how long my wife would have to wait before gaining employment authorisation?

Thanks

meauxna Apr 26th 2011 7:19 pm

Re: H4 to GC timeline for EAD

Your wife would be eligible to apply for an EAD (Employment Authorization Document) with her I-485 Application to Adjust Status to Permanent Residency (usually called 'AOS').
She can submit that when you do, when your visa number is current. The EB-3 category is backlogged many several years at the moment. See the Visa Bulletin for more information.

SarahG Apr 27th 2011 1:46 am

In case you don't have the link for the visa bulletin, it can be found here.

Lola-Monmouth Apr 27th 2011 2:00 am

Originally Posted by speedtriple (Post 9327990)
I am just starting out on the H1B visa route, I know that if my application is successful my wife will be issued an H4 visa and will not be able to work. Whilst our first year in the US will be used to test the water, if we decided to go down the GC route in EB3 category, can anyone advise how long my wife would have to wait before gaining employment authorisation?

Thanks