H1B Visa Questions

Old Feb 18th 2018, 3:47 pm
Just Joined

Spiritfire is an unknown quantity at this point
Default H1B Visa Questions

Hello,

Thanks in advance for your responses.

I am a teacher in the UK, I'm British and so are my 3 children (Below 18) and my wife is South African.

I've been interviewed for a position in the US, and the school are very interested in hiring me but have not hired from abroad before.

I've advised them to use an attorney to help them with the process. I do have a few questions:

1) What can I do on my side to help with the VISA process?
2) How do I get VISAs for my family? Do I just wait for those details to be requested?
3) Am I allowed to go to the US on the VWP in August and wait for my work permit to come into action or do I have to return back to the UK? If we want to setup a house etc before working for the school.
4) Is there a better visa for me to apply under?

I'm aware that it's a lottery and that the H1B is not guaranteed. I'm sure I'll have many more questions along the way.
Old Feb 18th 2018, 4:26 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat099 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: H1B Visa Questions

VISA is a credit card, Visa wise one of the big pluses is that it is mainly down to them.

H4, no work for spouse.

You can visit, need to come back, interview etc.

Have you applied for the DV Lottery.

Schools usually are not subject to the cap.

Does the School know it will cost.
Old Feb 18th 2018, 4:29 pm

Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute