H1b visa help

Old Oct 4th 2005, 5:47 pm
Just Joined

davidgibb88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default H1b visa help

Good evening everyone, or morning wherever you my be!

I am in my final year of my degree in Bsc Mathematics and Computer Science and have already completed a year Industrial placement for a company in California on a J1 visa.

My question is can anyone give any ideas on how to go about getting a visa to go back to work in the USA not as a student.

I have been looking at this but I'm a little sceptical
http://www.h1base.com/details.asp?id=171&cat=49

They are meant to get you a job on this package and sort your visa out.

Anyone help, hope this all makes sense too lol

Cheers
David
Old Oct 4th 2005, 6:11 pm
Forum Regular

dandc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: H1b visa help

Originally Posted by davidgibb88

I am in my final year of my degree in Bsc Mathematics and Computer Science and have already completed a year Industrial placement for a company in California on a J1 visa.

My question is can anyone give any ideas on how to go about getting a visa to go back to work in the USA not as a student.

Cheers
David
Hi David,

I am in my fourth year of my H1-b, and am working for my second company out here. The 'packages' that places like H1Base offer are seductive, but ultimately you are just paying for them to post your resume on a bunch of recruitment websites which is something you could do yourself for free.

Jobs in the US are certainly hard to come by, particularly if you are searching from overseas. One of the most common routes to working in the USA is getting a job with a company in your home country that has an office in the States, and then transferring. If you work for that company for over a year before transferring you can apply for an L1 (which I believe is valid for 6 or 7 years).