Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Green Card (EB3) - Licensed Engineer without a degree

Green Card (EB3) - Licensed Engineer without a degree

Old Dec 4th 2012, 6:23 am
Just Joined

zamochit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Green Card (EB3) - Licensed Engineer without a degree

I wonder if someone can help. I have scrolled through the last 104 pages of posts and not found exactly what I am after.

I have an H1B visa that I obtained by demostrating >12 years progressive experience as I do not have a degree. I am an electrical engineer with 15 years experience and recently received my state Professional Engineer's licence. The firm I work for (4 years in the UK and 2 years in the US) will sponsor my application.

What worries me is that I cannot find a definitive answer as to whether or not I can apply under the EB3 category. The USCIS says that a "Proffesional" cannot use experience in lieu of a bachelor's degree even though I am licensed. I am not sure whether I would be able to file as a "Skilled Worker" as this doesn't really cover what I do. If my position was advertized, then someone with a PE license would be more valued than a bachelor in engineering.

I know there are a few people on here that have successfully applied for a H1B visa without a degree and I wonder if they have managed to obtain a green card too.

Many thanks in advance!

Nick
Old Dec 4th 2012, 1:12 pm
BE Forum Addict

Brat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond reputeBrat1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Green Card (EB3) - Licensed Engineer without a degree

Hi Nick, welcome to BE