Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

A few more questions, 7 years later.

A few more questions, 7 years later.

Old Sep 13th 2020, 8:21 pm
Just Joined

lonestarbrah is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A few more questions, 7 years later.

Hi all

I posted some (slightly desperate) threads in 2013 and 2014 where I posted about planning to make a move to the USA: a few questions . At that time, I had no work experience and just a BA.

I'm back again, wondering if I can get any more advice. Someone in that thread said to me "don't let it take over your life", and for the most part, I unfortunately have.

I finished a Masters, started my career, and now (after having purposely sought it out) work in an extremely in-demand field of IT, for one of the most well recognised and competitive Fintech companies in the world (an American company). I have a number of valuable certifications in this field. All of this, has been done in order to move to Texas, as originally planned.

In 2019 I applied to one internal position in the US within my company which, after some interviews (I was confident that I'd done well), was given to someone with much more experience than myself. I suppose I'm posting this because I feel time passing by, and need to consider my options.

I wonder if people who have been successful at applying for jobs in the US that require a H1-b, could give me any advice.
-What's the best way of approaching this?
-Recruiters, or direct applications?
-90% of the job adverts I look at say "We will not sponsor H1bs for this position" - has anyone found an effective way of filtering on job/recruitment sites for "yes we will sponsor"?
-Should i be focussing on large multinationals?