Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Emigrating from UK to US - Both working Software Engineer & Nurse

Emigrating from UK to US - Both working Software Engineer & Nurse

Old Sep 2nd 2018, 10:48 am
Just Joined

iOSDev is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Emigrating from UK to US - Both working Software Engineer & Nurse

Hey, we are in the first stages of looking at moving to the USA and are wondering where to start with regards to Visa's etc

I work for a pretty big digital agency as the uk lead for the mobile development team (iPhone) I have been at the company for over 2 years and we have several US offices - So there is potential for L1 (or maybe L1a as I am a manager)

My Wife is a registered Nurse and Midwife and would be looking to work in the US

We have 2 children currently in primary school

We are potentially looking at California as a destination.

It seems my wife's profession is in high demand and there are quite a number of positions advertising roles with relocation etc

I was wondering what the best route for visa's would be in the following scenarios

1) I transfer to a US office with my current company, my wife looks to work once we are settled in US

2) My wife secures a role in the US and I look for work once she is employed and we are settled in the US

Also any advise on the likelihood of either scenarios would be great, I have looked through quite a lot of posts on here and the info has been great, but I have not seen a scenario that matches ours

Thanks in Advance!

Last edited by Noorah101; Sep 2nd 2018 at 9:44 pm. Reason: Assume you meant moving to the USA, not UK
Old Sep 2nd 2018, 11:07 am
Concierge