Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

Consequenses of non-residents buying house in US?

Consequenses of non-residents buying house in US?

Old Jan 5th 2006, 8:48 pm
BE Forum Addict

HunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond reputeHunterGreen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Consequenses of non-residents buying house in US?

Hi,

I guess this is more or less off-topic, but hopefully someone can help shed some light on the following.

My parents (I'm a permanent resident, hubby a USC) live and work in my home country (Netherlands) and have no intention to relocate to the USA. They are still relatively young, my dad has his own business and my mom works parttime for a very flexible boss.
My dad has some money he wants to invest through the business and they are considering buying a house in our neighborhood, where they (and any other visitors from back home) could stay when visiting us. We're not sure what to do with it when nobody's here, maybe rent it out for short periods or something - but that's really not a concern right now.

We're more interested in finding out what comes into play here - could they just buy it here (they wouldn't need a mortgage for it), what are the tax consequenses? Is there anything else we need to be aware of?