b1/b2 visa extension question

Old Feb 2nd 2001, 7:06 am
david C.

Hi, my friend want to extend her b1 visa for about two months, and I am helpping her to
file the application, so I would like to confirm my knowlege with visa guru here:
1) Is it the application form should mail to the Vermont center ( I am in Maryland,
east coast)
2) Can I send her daugther's bank statement to prove that the she has finacial support
during the extented stay ?
3) Is it any standard format for the letter that explain the reason of extension ?
4) She already extend her return flight, but how can I show this to INS ?
5) Besides the above mentioned items, Do I miss something else neccessary for B1
extension ?

Thanks. David

Old Feb 3rd 2001, 1:42 am
Ed MacNeil

Hi David,

THIS SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED TO BE LEGAL ADVICE. I AM NOT A LAWYER. I DON'T EVEN PLAY
ONE ON TV!

She will need form I-539 which can be downloaded from the INS web site,
<http://www.ins.usdoj.gov/graphics/index.htm>. I think the instructions that accompany
this form should answer all of your questions.

Ed MacNeil Ancient Aviator North Hampton, NH, USA

"david C." wrote:

> Hi, my friend want to extend her b1 visa for about two months, and I am helpping her to
> file the application, so I would like to confirm my knowlege with visa guru here:
> 1) Is it the application form should mail to the Vermont center ( I am in Maryland, east
> coast)
> 2) Can I send her daugther's bank statement to prove that the she has finacial support
> during the extented stay ?
> 3) Is it any standard format for the letter that explain the reason of extension ?
> 4) She already extend her return flight, but how can I show this to INS ?
> 4) Besides the above mentioned items, Do I miss something else neccessary for B1
> extension ?
>
> Thanks. David

Old Feb 3rd 2001, 12:42 pm
Alfred

dave,

1. yes (final answer : yes!)
2. include a photocopy of the notarized affidavit of support her daughter provided her