British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/)
-   -   Automotive Jobs and moving to USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/us-immigration-citizenship-visas-34/automotive-jobs-moving-usa-913259/)

AutoJobs May 28th 2018 8:17 am

Automotive Jobs and moving to USA

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum but have spent a few days reading threads. It's been a long time ambition of mine to move to the USA and having travelled it extensively on vacations, loving every trip (visited over 20 states now). Here in the UK I work for a large car manufacturer, I have a degree and 17 years experience in the industry. I've applied a few times to jobs and basically received a "thanks, but when you have a valid status to work here get back to us". I have a friend in the same situation who received an offer from Tesla, so i know it can be done. At the minute, this would seem my only route but it seems like it's largely dependant on luck. There are plenty of jobs suitable for me, it's just getting past the first hurdle.

In terms of where to live, I would happily start off anywhere and once i'm in the country and building up experience i can figure out what is right for the next move.

I also have a parent born outside of the uk (in an eligible country for green card) which would normally qualify me to apply, but they were living in the uk at the time of my birth so i think that might rule me out. Just thought i'd add that extra info.

Any help or bit of advice is appreciated.

civilservant May 28th 2018 10:01 am

Re: Automotive Jobs and moving to USA

It sounds like you've got an idea of the ways to get into the US. As you correctly state, if you were born in the UK (unless it was NI) you are not eligible to apply for the Diversity Visa.