Alistair Bell, Who an sponsor me?

Old Jan 29th 2001, 6:15 am
asifrm

I intend marrying an american citizen i know since 1 year.I want to know if he doesnot
meet the criteria for sponsoring me, can i self sponsor by saying I have 15,000US$ in my
savings account?

Please help!!!!

Venessa

Old Jan 29th 2001, 8:04 am
Alistair Bell

I intend marrying an american citizen i know since 1 year.I want to
> know if he doesnot meet the criteria for sponsoring me, can i self sponsor by saying I
> have 15,000US$ in my savings account?

Personally, I don't know (although I suspect the answer is no). But people at the
marriage-based newsgroup probably do know, so I've crossposted there.

--
Alistair

*IMPORTANT NOTE* I am not a lawyer and do not dispense legal advice. For accurate
information, always consult a good immigration attorney.

Old Jan 29th 2001, 8:25 am
Rita

I intend marrying an american citizen i know since 1 year.I want to
> know if he doesnot meet the criteria for sponsoring me, can i self sponsor by saying I
> have 15,000US$ in my savings account?
>
> Please help!!!!
>
> Venessa
>

The poverty guidelines for a single person for 2000 (2001 not yet published) is $8350. In
order to qualify you need to show INS assets 5 times that amount. Afraid your $15,000 is
not enough.

Rita

>

--
The K1 FAQ is now at http://www.k1faq.com www2.apex.net/users/thehydes

Old Jan 29th 2001, 8:39 am
Andy Platt

An immigrant can use their own assets so long as they are suitably liquid but at the rate
of $5 assets to $1 income it might not be enough. (Note that even if the US citizen was
just $3000 short of the income requirement, the INS / DOS could decide that the $15000
savings weren't enough and suspect the immigrant may become a public charge). Best to get
a co-sponsor I would say.

I haven't seen the original question so I can't say if this applies but if the immigrant
has lived in the same household as the spouse for more than six months and their income