Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > US Immigration, Citizenship and Visas
Reload this Page >

1 year trip - B1/2, Visa Waiver or H1B

Wikiposts

1 year trip - B1/2, Visa Waiver or H1B

Old May 11th 2011, 11:36 am
Just Joined

sweaterboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 1 year trip - B1/2, Visa Waiver or H1B

Hi,

I've been researching this for a while and decided to post because this forum actually has a lot of useful information on it which has helped a lot. I'm still kind of unsure about which route to go with so thought I'd ask opinions directly.

Basically I'm in my final year of university in Britain (I'm a British citizen, 21 years old), the uni is one of (perhaps the) top in the country (saying this in case it is relevant to the immigration officials decision, don't want to mention the exact one as not to give too much identifiable information), and while here I started dating an American girl on a year exchange programme. She's moving back to uni in a major American city from late June until mid-May next year and we both want to continue the relationship, ideally by me moving there.

Now I have an income from a UK based company I own, it's not that great, only about £800 a month, but enough to just about get by in the US. The income will definitely increase as I'll actually have time to put into the business while there, in the past it's been several times that while I was at school. But basically right now there's nothing in my bank account, although I do have credit cards and overdrafts available with about £8000 which I could max out to put into one bank account if required for showing I have access to funds. I also probably could get approved for a loan as I have been pre-approved in the past.