British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Update Forum (https://britishexpats.com/forum/update-forum-107/)
-   -   First weeks in Cairns (https://britishexpats.com/forum/update-forum-107/first-weeks-cairns-467381/)

wannabauzzienurse Jul 19th 2007 2:00 pm

First weeks in Cairns

Background for those who don't know I'm a newly qualified nurse with a job in Cairns on a 457 visa, married to 'windog' with two daughters 11 & 9 who are all still in the UK hopefully selling our house.

I chose to fly Air New Zealand via LA and Auckland to get the extra baggage allowance, hell of a journey to do in one go with no stopovers :ohmy:

Was met at the airport and taken to my accommodation that was arranged (and paid for) by the hospital for the first two weeks. Central Plaza 4* apartments near the hospital, fully furnished but out of my price range as a long term option. Finding somewhere to live was one of my biggest concerns and when someone from work offered me a room at their house I jumped at it rather than deal with a load of real estate agents on my own. Don't know if this was the right thing to do or not as I like my own space but it's cheap and has been a good way to meet people. When the rest of the family are coming I'll start looking for something else. One observation is that there is not much to rent for less than 350 a week (not for a family anyway) plenty of units and townhouses but houses in nice areas are $350+.

As I'm on my own I haven't done big grocery shops but things that seem pricey...cucumber, lettuce both around $2.50 and other fruit and veg, bread also. There are local markets which are nice to stroll around and they are definately cheaper.