Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > The Update Forum
Reload this Page >

8 months - Uk to Sydney to WA

8 months - Uk to Sydney to WA

Old Jan 21st 2009, 12:34 am
BE Forum Addict

verystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond reputeverystormy has a reputation beyond repute
Default 8 months - Uk to Sydney to WA

Thought i would give a quick update. We moved from the UK to Sydney in May last year, as my job doesnt exist in the UK - I am a exploration geologist, and we were sponsered by a mining company to move out on 457 visas.
Well, what can i say. Sydney is amazing and as stunning a place as you could imagine. However, and here is a word of warning for those comming on 457's, after a few weeks, the metal prices started heading south in a big way and my job started to look very insucure. For those that dont know, a person on a 457 visa only has 28 days to stay in the country if they cant find a another job and sponser.
So after looking around, i found a good role in a large company in Perth, so we faced another major move in the space of months and found ourselves in Perth in October.
Well, what can i say about Perth. It has its charms and Kings Park is trully stunning, but after buisness hours the city is dead! The cost of housing is VERY expensive, and what you get for it is shockingly bad.
So we looked at living south of the city and spent two weeks looking around Mandurah, eventually finding a amazing house in Dawesville, we are next to a amazing beach where dolphins come to play and are lucky enough to have a pool and spa - all for $300 a week.