6wks in Newcastle NSW

Old Oct 9th 2008, 11:18 pm
BE Enthusiast

TheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really niceTheDangerousQuietOne is just really nice
Default 6wks in Newcastle NSW

I just thought I'd do an update so I can keep track of what I've done in the last 6wks...

For those of you who don't know (the vast majority!) I'm a mining engineering student on a year out from my degree, working in Newcastle for a mining equipment supplier (a big-un). This means everything is paid for, my rent, bills, phone, laptop all are provided and they even pay my cab fare to work! I have no experience of the financial harships of emigrating (plenty of experience in financial hardship in the UK tho!) but definitely well up there on the emotional front.

Apart from the really good friends I've made at uni I also left behind a very special lady who was meant to just be another gf but turned into something more just before I left for Oz. My parents are in the middle of a very messy divorce atm and I can't help feeling that I should be in the UK to help my Mum and support her as she's having a very rough time. Apart from this I'm struggling to make any decent friends out here but as you'll read I'm sure it'll get better...

I arrived in Brisbane on 1st September with two other guys and we had a pretty laid back 10days spent in corporate inductions, OH&S training and getting a whole load of paperwork done. We explored the city a little but were mostly too jetlagged to do too much except meet up with 3 other students off our course who just did 3 months at Mt Isa