Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia > The Update Forum
Reload this Page >

2 weeks in South Australia! (warning long post)

2 weeks in South Australia! (warning long post)

Old Aug 4th 2007, 11:14 pm
Forum Regular

kaz101 will become famous soon enoughkaz101 will become famous soon enough
Default 2 weeks in South Australia! (warning long post)

Hi everyone,

A BIG thank you to everyone who contributes to the BE forum - we couldn't have done it without you!

Let's start with a little about us. I'm married, no kids, Ford Mustang 1971 (noisy and costs a fortune - so a bit like a kid ). Came to Oz for the first time in 2002 for the holiday of a lifetime. Went to Tassie, drove from Adelaide to Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road and loved it and the people. In the airport back at Heathrow wondered what it would be like to live in Oz.

I'm a contract analyst programmer, and my husband is a maintenance gardener. We assumed we would get in on me being a programmer as first applicant for the skilled independent visa (this was back in 2002 / 2003). Anyway we were turned down by 2 agencies saying we wouldn't get in. However we met Paul Arthur from the Emigration group and had a free interview. He said just switch it round with my husband as primary applicant and we should get in. Oz expects all professionals to have a degree, and I didn't have one - just 20 years experience Anyway it worked. Got through medicals (I had to lose some weight but I was still overweight and got through!), police checks etc.

Validation our visas in 2004 I think.