British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Trucking (https://britishexpats.com/forum/trucking-118/)
-   -   U.K. To Ontario Canada advice or information please (https://britishexpats.com/forum/trucking-118/u-k-ontario-canada-advice-information-please-897871/)

Yorkshiredaz Jun 11th 2017 7:58 am

U.K. To Ontario Canada advice or information please

Hi all
I'm new to this trucking section. I did post few days ago on the main Canadian forum but a lot of people replied more about my wife's job.

Basically we are a family of 4(2 n 4 yo children) we are looking at taking the express entry (fsw) with my wife as the lead applicant as she has degrees to enter Canada as PR. However my wife's career isn't going to be easy to get into(won't mention as don't want this thread to revolve around that)
I am a class 1 driver in uk(realise I have to retrain so any info on that too would be good), only 6 years experience but was hoping my job may be easier for me to get over my wife getting a job. I am willing to work but as I have young family not so keen on idea of long haul initially! So may smaller trucks(or van work) to tie us over? Short haul so I have at least the weekends at home? A lot to ask I know but anyone with advice I would be very grateful.

So I'm wondering what job situation is like especially in Ontario?
What potential earnings would be?
Companies to look out for and maybe email or try contact?
Retraining advice?
Good areas for truck jobs in Ontario?
Is it possible to actually move?
Could we survive on a truck wage until my wife got permanent job?

thanks in advance

neilg14 Jun 11th 2017 10:52 am

Re: U.K. To Ontario Canada advice or information please

Originally Posted by Yorkshiredaz (Post 12270347)
Hi all
I'm new to this trucking section. I did post few days ago on the main Canadian forum but a lot of people replied more about my wife's job.