Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Trucking and living in Canada. Advise wanted.

Trucking and living in Canada. Advise wanted.

Old Oct 4th 2011, 6:11 pm
Just Joined

Scubachris is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Trucking and living in Canada. Advise wanted.

Hi all Myself and my wife are looking to move to Calgary next year. I am a HGV class 1 truck driver over hear in the UK and have been for the past 8 years. I have been looking at Siemens Transport and wondered if anybody works for them and could tell me if they are a good company to have a career with or could suggest other company's that are good. I am aware that I will be away from home for long periods of time and I am totaly committed to that. I would be great full of any information on working shifts i.e 5 days out and 2 off.

Also I have been reading a lot about British people coming over and finding it hard to live on the money they are earning. We are not looking to come over to make a quick buck. We are looking to move over to Canada to start a hole new life and would be grateful of all the advice and help we could get. We only have about £10000 to come over with as the cost of living in the UK is now starting to eat into our saving, and that should not be happening when you are earning £30000 a year on top of the wife's wage which is £13000.

Regards

Chris
Old Oct 4th 2011, 6:43 pm
BE Forum Addict

Location: 9 years in the canadian trucking industry... Niverville MB
Gremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond reputeGremmie has a reputation beyond repute